Why Medical Insurance Matters?
Live
Life Hack

Why Medical Insurance Matters?

7 Mins read
cigna-team Author Cigna Team

Life is like a marathon, and health is our greatest edge to win it. Nobody wants to get ill, but diseases do not discriminate. A medical insurance policy can provide financial backing for unexpected health care costs and ongoing medical bills.

The earlier you acquire medical insurance, the more comprehensive your coverage will be. As an individual grows old, their chances of falling sick naturally become higher. Taking out a health insurance policy at a later age means coverage tends to be more limited.

According to the Census and Statistics Department in Hong Kong, only 2.4 million people were covered by non-group-based, individual medical policies in 2016, amounting to only 30% of our population.1 The relatively low awareness of medical insurance is what the city needs to address.

The proportion of Hong Kong’s elderly residents aged 65 and over will significantly increase to 36 percent by 2064.2 An aging population will result in a growing demand for healthcare services in the public system. And in case of an overload, we will endure significantly higher costs for seeking help in the private sector.

Watch video: Why do you need a medical insurance on top of group medical plan?

Along with an aging population, medical technology advancement and a higher inpatient cost all contribute to a higher healthcare cost. Treating diseases has increasingly become a financial burden for many Hong Kong families. This illustrates how important it is to plan ahead for our medical needs.

Ideally, a medical insurance policy should cover room and board, inpatient and outpatient surgery, as well as post-surgery medical costs. There are two types of plans, one type incorporated a saving element, others do not.

Make hay while the sun shines. Choose a health insurance policy that works for your insurance needs and financial ability. Don’t get caught off-guard by medical bills!

  1. SCMP - Hong Kong’s plan to steer 1.5 million people towards private health sector through Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme will be ‘challenging’
  2. HKSAR - Census and Statistics Department

Recommended for you

Subscribe to Cigna Smart Health

Get the latest health tips & premium contents from our newsletter

為何醫療保險如此重要?
生活秘訣

為何醫療保險如此重要?

3 分鐘閱讀

人生就是一場長跑,而健康的身體就是致勝關鍵。人人都想擁有健康。同樣,人人都有機會患病。醫療保險計劃能為須要應付突如其來醫療費用和隨後醫療開支的人們提供經濟支援。

越年輕購買醫療保險,越能獲得更全面的保障。隨著年紀漸長,患病的機會自然會增高。因此,若在年紀較大、身體出現警號時才購買醫療保險,保險範圍往往大幅減少,未必能覆蓋所有醫療開支。

根據香港政府統計處的數據,2016 年只有240萬人享有非團體個人醫療保險的保障,佔全港人口僅三成。1 事實上,香港的醫療保障意識普遍較低,這正是我們要著手處理的問題。

預計到了 2064 年,全港 65 歲或以上長者人口的比例將大幅增加至 36%。2 人口老化將不斷提高社會對公共醫療服務的需求。如公共醫療服務不勝負荷,我們在私家醫院及診所求醫時將需要承擔更高費用。

觀看短片:你的公司團體醫療保障足夠嗎?

隨著人口老化、醫療技術的進步和住院費用上升,醫療成本亦不斷增加。治療疾病對很多香港家庭來說都是沉重的財政負擔。故此,及早計劃醫療需要確實十分重要。

理想的醫療保險應涵蓋病房及膳食保障、住院和門診手術,以及手術後所需支付的醫療費用。現時市面上的醫療保險分為包含儲蓄成份及純醫療保險兩種。

未雨綢繆,你可根據個人保障需要及經濟能力,為自己選擇一份合適的醫療保險,別讓醫療費用令你大失預算!

  1. SCMP - Hong Kong’s plan to steer 1.5 million people towards private health sector through Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme will be ‘challenging’
  2. HKSAR - Census and Statistics Department

您可能感興趣

訂閱信諾Smart Health

獲得最新健康資訊