Stretching Your Limits
Move
Home Workout

Stretching Your Limits

12 Mins read
cigna-team Author Cigna Team

Most of us leading a hectic lifestyle in Hong Kong have enough difficulty setting aside time every day for exercise, let alone adding another 15-20 minutes of warmup and cool down stretches. However, if you aren’t stretching, you’re putting yourself at the risk of injury and hampering your recovery time.

What is good about stretching?

  • Improving flexibility.1 Whether you’re having trouble striking a difficult yoga pose, executing a barbell squat or improving your sprinting speed, stretching can help by improving the range of movements in your muscles and joints.
  • Improving physical performance.2 Stretching gets the oxygen-rich blood flowing to your muscles, which is particularly important for anaerobic exercises such as strength and weight training.
  • Reducing muscle cramping and soreness. At the end of a grueling workout, lactic acid can build up in your muscles and cause delayed onset muscle soreness over the next few days. Stretching stimulates blood flow in the muscles, enabling your body to eject metabolites such as lactic acid.3

Proper Stretching

Before we get into some great techniques, here are some general guidelines.

  • You should aim to execute these exercises at least two to three days per week.2
  • For best results, you should stretch for 5-10 minutes before and after every exercise session. Also, remember to hold each stretch for 10 to 30 seconds and repeat each stretch at least 3 times.4
  • Remember that an effective stretch is rarely comfortable. You should be feeling a slight pulling sensation in the muscle being stretched. However, if you feel pain or a loss of stability in any joints, then you may be over-straining your body, and should cease stretching immediately. Being able to tell the difference between “good pain” and “bad pain” is essential for injury-free stretching!

Let’s stretch!

stretching-your-limits1
  1. Hamstring stretch
    Sit on the ground with your left leg extended in front of you. Bend your right leg until the ball of your right foot touches your left inner thigh. Keeping your back straight and bending at the hips, lean towards your left until you feel a slight pull in your left hamstring, along with the back of your thigh. Repeat with your right leg.
  1. Upper back stretch
    Clasp your hands in front with your arms extended forward at around shoulder height. Tucking in your chest, push your hands forward until you can feel a stretch in your neck and upper back.
stretching-your-limits2
  1. Hip and glutes stretch
    Lie on your back with your knees bent. Rest your left ankle against your right thigh, clasp your hands around your right thigh and draw it gently towards your body, keeping your buttocks on the ground. You should feel a stretch across your left hip and buttocks.
  1. Neck
    Looking forward, slowly lower your head diagonally towards the left, until you feel a stretch on the right side of your neck. Repeat, but lower your head towards the right this time.

Stretching is worth the time and effort — it’ll ensure that you can go the distance in your physical fitness journey!


Our body muscles will get tightened if staying at the same position for a long time, which in turns weakening our muscle strength. Regular stretching helps relieving the tension and stress, also improving the stability and range of motion. Watch the below video presented by weStretch, where you will learn how to do a quick stretch within 5 minutes, whether at work or at home.


Click here
to download Cigna's Digital Health Wallet today. Designed by Switch & Co, this mobile app will help you stay healthy from the inside out with a selection of fitness training, yoga and wellness activities.

Resources

  1. Weerapong P, Hume P, Kolt G. Stretching: mechanisms and benefits for sport performance and injury Prevention Physical Therapy Reviews 2004;9(4): 189-206.
  2. Herbert RD, Gabriel M. Effects of stretching before and after exercising on muscle soreness and risk of injury: systematic review. BMJ 2002; 325(7362):468.
  3. http://www.mydr.com.au/sports-fitness/warming-up-and-cooling-down-for-exercise, visited July 2017.
  4. ACSM guidelines for exercise testing and prescription. American College of Sports Medicine. 7th ed. Philadelphia Lea & Febiger/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins:,May 2005.

Recommended for you

Subscribe to Cigna Smart Health

Get the latest health tips & premium contents from our newsletter

伸展出你的極限
家居鍛煉

伸展出你的極限

6 分鐘閱讀

香港繁忙的生活模式,令大部分人難於每天騰出一點時間做運動,更別說要額外多加15至20 分鐘來進行熱身及緩和伸展動作。然而,缺少了伸展動作,無疑增加你受傷的風險及拉長復原時間。

伸展運動有甚麼好處?

  • 改善靈活度。1不論你正在向一些高階瑜伽姿勢和舉起槓鈴蹲下等動作挑戰,還是是想提升你的短跑速度,伸展運動都能助你改善肌肉和關節活動的幅度。
  • 改善體能表現。2伸展帶動含氧量高的血液流向肌肉,對力量及負重訓練等無氧運動尤其重要。
  • 減少肌肉抽筋及酸痛。在進行劇烈運動後,乳酸會積聚在你的肌肉中,於幾日後造成延遲的肌肉酸痛。伸展運動刺激血液在肌肉中的流動,令你的身體排出如乳酸這些新陳代謝物。3

適當的伸展

在我們介紹伸展技巧前,以下是一些基本指引:

  • 你應要一週內選2至3日來進行伸展。2
  • 為達至最佳效果,你應該在運動前後的5至10分鐘做伸展運動。同時,每個伸展動作記得要維持10至30秒,並重複每個動作至少3次。4
  • 記得有效的伸展絕少會有舒適的感覺。伸展時,你的肌肉會稍為感到被拉扯。然而,如果你感到疼痛甚或關節不穩定,便或許在過度用力,應立即停止伸展。懂得分辨「良好痛楚」和「不良痛楚」是做到零傷害伸展的重要一環。

伸展吧!

stretching-your-limits1
  1. 腿後腱伸展
    坐在地上將左腳伸直。彎曲你的右腳直至腳跟觸碰到左邊大腿內側。保持背部挺直,從臀部以上向左側前傾,直至你感到左邊腿筋至大腿後方有被拉扯的感覺。右腳重複以上動作。
  1. 上背伸展
    伸展雙手至身前並兩手交握,把雙臂停在肩膀的高度。胸口往內縮,雙手向前推直至你感覺到頸部和上背有伸展的感覺。
stretching-your-limits2
  1. 臀部和臀大肌伸展
    平躺下來並將雙膝彎曲。將左邊腳眼放在右邊大腿,握著手環抱右邊大腿並慢慢拉向身體,臀部要保持接觸地面,這時你應會感到你的左邊臀部和臀瓣被拉扯。
  1. 頸部
    望向前方,慢慢將頭顱向左邊垂下,直至右邊頸項感到被拉扯。重複以上動作,今次轉向右邊。

伸展動作確實值得你花時間努力完成,因它能確保你在體能健康的旅途上走得更前!


人體若維持某姿勢過久,肌肉會變得過度緊張和長期收縮,而使肌力減弱。定期伸展有助於紓解肌肉與身體的壓力和緊張,還可提高身體靈活度來應付各種日常活動。立即觀看以下短片,我們邀請到weStretch為您帶來一系列有效的室內伸展運動及拉筋動作,非常適合在家裡或辦公室進行。


按此
下載由Switch & Co研發的信諾電子健康錢包。我們為追求健康生活的你,發掘一系列的精彩活動,包括體能鍛鍊、瑜伽、以至放鬆身心的療程,全面照顧你的身心靈!

資料來源

  1. Weerapong P, Hume P, Kolt G. Stretching: mechanisms and benefits for sport performance and injury Prevention Physical Therapy Reviews 2004;9(4): 189-206.
  2. Herbert RD, Gabriel M. Effects of stretching before and after exercising on muscle soreness and risk of injury: systematic review. BMJ 2002; 325(7362):468.
  3. http://www.mydr.com.au/sports-fitness/warming-up-and-cooling-down-for-exercise, visited July 2017
  4. ACSM guidelines for exercise testing and prescription. American College of Sports Medicine. 7th ed. Philadelphia Lea & Febiger/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins:,May 2005.

您可能感興趣

訂閱信諾Smart Health

獲得最新健康資訊