Know Your Enemy — Fighting Diabetes
Medical
Diabetes

How To Fight Diabetes - Understanding Types of Diabetes, Causes & Prevention

10 Mins read
cigna-team Author Cigna Team

Know Your Enemy — Fighting Diabetes

In 2017 alone,diabetes led to almost 14,000 hospital in-patient discharges and deaths in Hong Kong.And as our diet get increasingly unhealthy and with smartphones, televisions and laptops conspire to keep us away from the treadmill and weights room, those numbers are set to increase. The good news? Diabetes is preventable, and it is always best to know our enemy before fighting it.

The pancreas is the organ responsible for producing insulin, a hormone that helps the body use glucose (blood sugar) from the food you consume to fuel bodily functions.

For a healthy person, insulin acts like a key that “unlocks” the door between your bloodstream and the cells of your muscles and tissues, so that glucose can pass through and be processed for energy. For diabetes sufferers, the pancreas either does not make enough insulin or the body is unable to make full use of the insulin the pancreas produces, sending your blood glucose levels sky-high.1

The evidence emerging from the millions of dollars invested in diabetes research clearly points to two categories of high-risk factors.2

  1. Genetic factors: The first is heredity. For example, statistics suggest that Caucasians over the age of 40 are at a higher risk of developing diabetes. In addition, a family history of diabetes is a strong predictor of diabetes in later life. These, unfortunately, are factors we have no control over.
  2. Lifestyle factors: The second consists of lifestyle factors — mainly diet and exercise. Diets that are high in calories, sugar and saturated fat, combined with a sedentary lifestyle, put you at a severe risk of developing diabetes.

Type 1 diabetes is often called juvenile or early onset diabetes because it is much more common in children (usually manifesting before the age of 15) than adults. This type of diabetes occurs when the pancreas produces little or no insulin. Managing this condition therefore involves regular blood sugar monitoring and insulin injections.2

Type 2 diabetes accounts for a stunning 85% of diabetes incidences and is most commonly diagnosed in people over the age of 40. Type 2 diabetes is managed by regular exercise, diet management and careful blood sugar monitoring that is often supplemented by oral medication and insulin injections.2

If your blood sugar is higher than normal, but still not high enough to be classified as Type 2 diabetes, you fall into the pre-diabetes category. The good news is that you still have the opportunity to take action. Fending off this impending illness will require great commitment, including vigorous physical exercise for as many as five 30-minute sessions a week and a strict diet with very few simple carbohydrates and sugars.2

There are no obvious symptoms for some diabetics. However, without proper control, a continuously high blood sugar level may lead to various chronic complications including coronary heart disease, blindness, chronic renal failure, stroke or even death in severe cases. Learn to live with diabetes by controlling blood sugar levels to reduce the risk of complications.

  • Stay positive: It is common for diabetics to feel stressed and worried, but negative emotions such as anxiety will make the body release adrenaline which can raise blood sugar. Staying positive is also a good way to motivate one to control blood sugar for better health.
  • Low-Carb diet: High intake of carbohydrates is a major factor in raising blood sugar. Three main types of food containing carbohydrates are grains, dairy products and fruits. Diabetics can lower their intake of rice by half to reduce carbohydrates absorption. With high-fibre vegetables and low-fat meats, a balanced diet can help stabilize blood sugar level.
  • Exercise regularly:Regular exercise can help reduce weight and prevent insulin resistance. It is recommended to carry out 150 minutes of moderate-intensity aerobic physical activity every week. Or you can just begin to walk more. Live a more active life can help you control blood sugar level.
  • Take medicines: Follow your doctor’s instructions and take your medicines for diabetes even when you feel good. Taking oral hypoglycemic drugs or insulin injections are all effective ways to control blood sugar. Receive appropriate treatments to help reach your blood sugar target effectively.
  • Blood Glucose Monitoring:You can better understand the changes in blood sugar level with blood glucose monitoring. This is essential in helping you adjust your diet and activity level to achieve better control of blood sugar.

If you’re lucky enough to have a healthy body, then treasure it. Live your life by the old maxim, “my body's a temple”. Have a healthy diet full of complex carbohydrates like brown rice and whole wheat bread and keep indulgences in fatty or sugary foods to a minimum.

Stay active by participating in sports, workout classes or even just taking regular walks. These modest lifestyle changes can keep diabetes away.

Without proper control, diabetes can lead to complications caused by high or low blood sugar level. Chronic complications such as cardiovascular diseases and nervous system diseases will incur high medical expenses and create a huge financial burden for patients. Cigna HealthFirst Elite Medical Plan provides you with comprehensive medical coverage with a range of hospital and surgical benefits. Our superior annual limit is up to HK$50M* to cater the medical needs of patients. Please click here for more details.

Sources:

  1. What is diabetes? Diabetes UK. Visited 28 March 2014.
  2. Diabetes risk factors. Diabetes.co.uk. Visited 28 March 2014.
  3. http://www.chp.gov.hk/en/content/9/25/59.html. Visited 13 May 2017.
  4. 香港糖尿聯會 - 與糖尿病共處
  5. 智抗糖 - 糖尿病如何降血糖?控制血糖五原則

Recommended for you

Subscribe to Cigna Smart Health

Get the latest health tips & premium contents from our newsletter

知己知彼 — 認識糖尿病
糖尿病

對抗糖尿病:一文看清糖尿病類型、成因及預防方法

4 分鐘閱讀

知己知彼 — 認識糖尿病

都市人飲食營養失衡,長期與手機、電腦及電視等娛樂為伍,主動走入健身室做運動的意欲低迷。相反,單是2017年,糖尿病已於本港導致14,000宗住院病人出院及死亡個案,數字更一直上升。3幸好糖尿病其實可以預防,要戰勝這可怕的頑疾,須認清背後成因。

胰腺是製造胰島素的器官,一種幫助身體從飲食中吸收葡萄糖(血糖),並進而推動身體機能的賀爾蒙。

對於一個健康的人而言,假如血管和肌肉及組織中細胞之間有一道門,胰島素就有如一條鎖匙,將葡萄糖引入及轉化成能量。然而,糖尿病患者的胰腺有可能製造胰島素不足,或身體無法充份使用胰腺所生產的胰島素,從而令血糖水平飊升。1

以下兩大類型的高危因素,是從數以百萬計投資的糖尿病研究中綜合而來的有力證據。2

  1. 遺傳因素: 基因遺傳是其中一個既關鍵又無法控制的因素。例如,統計數字指出 40 歲的白人是罹患糖尿病的高危一族。家族歷史亦是糖尿病的一大指標,能有效顯示出該人士往後會有較大的機會患病。
  2. 生活習慣因素: 飲食運動是構成生活習慣因素的兩大要點。如飲食中吸收高卡路里、糖份和飽和脂肪,再加上缺乏運動,患上糖尿病的風險極為嚴重。
  • 一型糖尿病:

    患者普遍是兒童多於成人,通常在青少年及幼年時期發病(大多於 15 歲前出現)。由於胰腺製造出太少,甚至無法生產出胰島素而形成,因此需要監察血糖及胰島素注射來控制病情。2

  • 二型糖尿病:

    此類型能夠造成高達 85% 發病率,大多數確診病人為 40 歲或以上的中年人士。要有效控制病情,需要適量運動、妥善管理飲食及透過口服藥物和注射胰島素來小心控制血糖水平。2

  • 糖尿病前期:

    如血糖水平高於正常,但仍未及確診為二型糖尿病,將有機會列為糖尿病前期。患者只要下定決心抗病,仍有機會將身體狀況改善,例如積極鍛鍊體魄,每週進行五節約 30 分鐘的運動,並嚴格管理飲食,進食少量碳水化合物及糖量2

糖尿病患者在病發時,並沒有明顯症狀,但若病情控制不當,令血糖長期偏高,則有機會導致糖尿病慢性併發症 出現,包括冠心病、失明、慢性腎衰竭、中風等,嚴重者甚至會導致死亡。要與糖尿病共存,患者應學習控制血糖水平,以降低併發症風險。

  • 積極面對: 患者可能會面對種種精神壓力及不安,但焦慮等負面情緒會令身體分泌腎上腺素,令血糖升高,從而加重病情。保持樂觀正面態度,亦有助提升患者控制血糖的動力。
  • 控制醣類吸收: 醣類食物是導致血糖上升的其中一個主要原因,三大醣類食物包括五穀雜糧類、乳製品和水果類,糖尿病患者可將飯量減半,減少醣類吸收,再配搭高纖蔬菜和低脂肉類,穩定血糖。
  • 養成運動習慣:規律運動有助減重,也能減少胰島素阻抗,最好每周進行150分鐘的中強度有氧運動,或者只是多走路也好,從增加活動量開始,控制血糖水平。
  • 按時服藥: 即使自覺狀態良好,也應遵從醫生指示按時服藥,服用口服降糖藥或注射胰島素等,都是有效的控糖方式,以適當的療法多管齊下,自然能更快達成控糖指標。
  • 自我血糖監測:透過刺手指採血檢查(一般稱為篤手指),可以更了解自己的日常血糖變化狀況,進而調整飲食及活動量,達到良好的血糖控制狀況。

引用一句聖經箴言「身體就是聖靈的殿」,要好好珍惜健康的身體。飲食方面可以進食混合性的碳水化合物,像糙米和全麥麵包,同時盡量少吃肥膩及糖份高的食物。另外要多做運動,參加健身班或者定時健走。建立良好的生活習慣,就能遠離糖尿病的威脅。

糖尿病如控制不當,令血糖過高或過低,都有機會引致併發症出現。慢性併發症包括心血管疾病、神經系統疾病等,都會導致龐大醫療開支,增加患者的經濟壓力。信諾尊尚醫療保提供完善的住院及手術保障,每年賠償上限高達港幣$5,000萬,滿足患者的醫療需要。按此了解更多

資料來源:

  1. What is diabetes? Diabetes UK. Visited 28 March 2014.
  2. Diabetes risk factors. Diabetes.co.uk. Visited 28 March 2014.
  3. http://www.chp.gov.hk/en/content/9/25/59.html.Visited 13 May 2017.
  4. 香港糖尿聯會 - 與糖尿病共處
  5. 智抗糖 - 糖尿病如何降血糖?控制血糖五原則

您可能感興趣

訂閱信諾Smart Health

獲得最新健康資訊