What are the different types of milk?
Eat
Food Myths

What are the different types of milk?

13 Mins read
cigna-team Author Cigna Team

Packed with protein, calcium, vitamins D and B12, milk is a nutritious essential that is good for bone health. Milk is also regarded as a complete protein since it contains all nine types of essential amino acids for the body to function at an optimal level. 

Besides cow's milk, the rising popularity of plant-based milk now opens up a few options including almond milk and oat milk for vegans and those who are lactose intolerant. Here we take a look at the nutritional benefits of different kinds of milk and how these dairy products are good for your body.

Traditional nutrition study suggests that an adult should consume about 300g of dairy products a day. Milk is the most popular choice. Sometimes people order "cha zau" in a restaurant, the milk tea with condensed milk instead of evaporated milk. In fact, both condensed and evaporated milk are milk products after removing certain water content. Condensed milk is sweetened, evaporated milk is sugar-free, while both of them contain a lot of additives, best to drink less.

Due to allergy, lactose intolerance or vegetarianism, some people are not capable of absorbing milk. Besides, the production and storage of animal products generate abundant greenhouse gases, some consumers tend to avoid milk as of environmental considerations. Plant milk made from soybeans, oats, and almonds, becomes a good substitute.

In the United States alone, plant milk sales have reached billions of dollars each year. Market monitoring and data analysis company Nielsen also pointed out that oat milk has become the most popular plant milk in the UK market in 2020.

According to a consumer survey in the US, nearly one-fifth of plant milk buyers value health factors the most. Many plant milk promotions also use health as their selling point, but the information is sometimes not comprehensive. As for certain kinds of plant milk with rough texture, some manufacturers add sugar and thickeners to make their products smoother. Consumers should thus check the nutrition label in detail before purchasing.

The following table compares the nutritional content of different products:

Nutrient Content(8oz)

Soy milk

Quinoa Milk

Oat milk

Almond milk

Whole milk

Skim milk

Low-fat milk

Calories

105 kcal

111 kcal

40 kcal

130 kcal

150 kcal

100 kcal

80 kcal

Proteins

6g

3.8g

1.51 g

7-8g

8-9g

8g

8g

Fat

4g

1.6g

3.58g

16g

8g

2.5g

1g

Whole milk or full cream milk is rich in taste and contains 3.25% milkfat by weight. It is higher in calories, with an 8-ounce glass containing 150 calories, 8 grams of protein, 8 grams of fat, including 5 grams of saturated fat. 

Although those who are watching their weight may be wary of drinking whole milk, it is worth noting that the body needs fat to absorb vitamins A and D. 

An 8-ounce glass of skim milk contains just 80 calories. But worry not, as the 8 grams of protein and other essential nutrients in the milk remain intact.  Although it appears to be a healthier option, some skim milk contains flavourings and additives.

Low-fat milk has less fat, with an 8-ounce glass containing 2.5 grams of fat and 100 calories; a relatively low-calorie source of protein.

Nutritionally, soy milk comes closest to cow's milk. Soybeans are an excellent source of complete protein and thus a great option if you wish to avoid dairy beverage. An 8-ounce serving of unsweetened soy milk approximately provides 105 calories, 6 grams of protein and 4 grams of fat. It also contains vitamin B12 and D, calcium and phosphorus.

Quinoa is an excellent source of manganese which acts as a cofactor of several enzymes to facilitate a dozen different metabolic processes. Each 8-ounce serving of Quinoa Milk contains 111 calories, 1.6 grams of fat and 3.8 grams of protein.

Oat milk is high in soluble fibre and beta-glucans. It is, however, lower in protein, vitamins and minerals compared to cow's milk. An 8-ounce glass of oat milk contains 130 calories, 2 grams of fat and 4 grams of protein.

Almond milk is imbued with a nutty taste and contains magnesium, selenium and vitamin E. An 8-ounce glass of almond milk contains 40 calories, 3.58 grams of fat and 1.51 grams of protein.

Sources:

  1. Milk Life - Get the Facts: Types of Milk Explained
  2. The 7 Healthiest Milk Options
  3. Homemade Quinoa Milk
  4. 植物奶介紹|4大種類好壞推薦!和牛奶的比較是如何?
  5. 奶精、煉奶、牛奶、奶粉、淡奶,邊樣最健康?

Recommended for you

Subscribe to Cigna Smart Health

Get the latest health tips & premium contents from our newsletter

牛奶營養成分指南
食物迷思

牛奶營養成分指南

5 分鐘閱讀

飲牛奶的好處非常多,牛奶是一種含豐富蛋白質、鈣質、維他命 D 和 B12 的營養必需品,有助維持骨骼健康。此外,由於牛奶含有人體全部九種必需的氨基酸,可以令身體維持最佳表現,故此亦被公認為是一種完整的蛋白質

除牛奶外,近年日益普及的植物奶亦為素食主義者、想減肥和患有乳糖不耐症人士提供了一些另類選擇,當中包括杏仁奶和燕麥奶。今期我們將列出各種奶類飲品的營養成分,以及這些乳製品對人體有何益處。

傳統營養學建議一個成人每天應攝取約300克奶製品,最多人選擇喝牛奶。有時大家在茶餐廳叫「茶走」,即以煉奶取代淡奶沖製奶茶;其實煉奶和淡奶也是牛奶製品,只是經過真空濃縮去除水分,加糖是煉奶,無糖是淡奶。由於兩者皆含大量添加物,最好盡量少飲。

有些人則因牛奶蛋白過敏、乳糖不耐症或吃素而不能喝牛奶。另外由於動物製品的生產和儲存過程會產生大量溫室氣體,有消費者基於環保考慮,亦會避免飲用牛奶。於是以大豆、燕麥和杏仁等製成的「植物奶」,便成上佳替代品。

單在美國,植物奶銷售額每年已經數以十億美元計。市場監測和數據分析公司尼爾森(Nielsen)亦指出,燕麥奶在2020年已成英國市場最受歡迎的植物奶。

美國一項消費者調查顯示,近五分之一「植物奶」買家最重視健康因素;不少植物奶推廣亦以健康為賣點,不過資料有時未盡全面。再者有些植物奶質感比較粗糙,部份生產商為令出品更細滑,可能加入大量糖份和增稠劑。消費者在購買前,仍然應該詳細查看營養標籤:

下表比較不同種類產品的營養成分:

營養成分(8安士)

豆奶

藜麥奶

杏仁奶

燕麥奶

全脂奶

低脂奶

脫脂奶

熱量

105卡路里

111卡路里

40卡路里

130卡路里

150卡路里

100卡路里

80卡路里

蛋白質

6克

3.8克

1.51 克

7-8克

8-9克

8克

8 克

脂肪

4克

1.6克

3.58 克

16克

8克

2.5 克

1克

全脂奶味道濃郁,含有3.25%的乳脂,卡路里含量較高。一杯 8 安士的全脂奶便含有 150 卡路里、8 克蛋白質、8 克脂肪 (當中包括 5 克飽和脂肪)。

儘管想減肥的人可能會對全脂奶避之則吉。但人體需要脂肪,才能吸收維他命 A 和 D,故此全脂奶對身體仍是有益的。

雖然一杯 8 安士的脫脂牛奶只含有 80 卡路里,但牛奶中 8 克的蛋白質和其他必需營養素仍然完整無損。儘管脫脂牛奶看來似乎更健康,但要留意的是一些脫脂奶中亦加添了一些調味劑和添加劑,故此選購時可能要額外留意。

低脂奶的脂肪較少,每 8 安士含有 2.5 克脂肪和 100 卡路里,是熱量相對較低的蛋白質來源。

豆奶在營養方面最接近牛奶。大豆提供完整蛋白質,若想避開乳製品飲料,豆奶是一個不錯選擇。一份8盎司無糖豆奶約含105卡路里、6克蛋白質和4克脂肪,並有維他命B12、維他命D、鈣和磷。

藜麥富含錳,是多種酵素的輔助因子,有助促進新陳代謝。每8盎司藜麥奶含有111卡路里、1.6克脂肪和3.8克蛋白質。

燕麥奶中的可溶性纖維和β-葡聚醣含量很高。 然而,與牛奶相比,它的蛋白質、維他命和礦物質含量則較低。 一杯 8 安士的燕麥奶含有 130 卡路里、2 克脂肪和 4 克蛋白質。

杏仁奶有濃郁的果仁香味,並且含有鎂、硒和維他命 E 。一杯 8 安士的杏仁奶含 40 卡路里、3.58 克脂肪和 1.51 克蛋白質。

資料來源:

  1. Milk Life - Get the Facts: Types of Milk Explained
  2. The 7 Healthiest Milk Options
  3. Homemade Quinoa Milk
  4. 植物奶介紹|4大種類好壞推薦!和牛奶的比較是如何?
  5. 奶精、煉奶、牛奶、奶粉、淡奶,邊樣最健康?

您可能感興趣

訂閱信諾Smart Health

獲得最新健康資訊