The Equation for Weight Loss
Move
Workout Tips

The Equation for Weight Loss

10 Mins read
cigna-team Author Cigna Team

At the core of any diet or weight loss strategy is a simple equation. Your energy output must exceed your energy intake.

Weight loss = energy input - energy output

This is a crucial concept because weight loss isn’t just about eating nutritious, high-quality food, but also ensuring that you consume fewer calories than you burn through daily activities. It’s about quantity as well as quality. Hence, if your weight loss plan isn’t seeing results, there are two options. You can eat less, or you can exercise more.

Reducing energy intake

the-equation-for-weight-loss1

A common, but misplaced diet strategy is to skip the entire meal. This lowers your energy level, creates intense food cravings and accentuates hunger pangs, which may lead you to consume far more than is healthy during the meals you do eat.1

Instead, what you should avoid is snacking outside of your three meals a day. Junk food is high in calories, particularly from sugar and fat, and it’s easy to overindulge because you aren’t paying close attention to the portion size. Snacking is, by definition, non-essential calorie consumption. So if you’re trying to reduce energy input, snacks should be the first to go.

A second tip is to ensure that your breakfast, lunch and dinner consist of nutritious, low Glycemic Index (GI) and calorie-efficient foods that will keep your energy level consistent throughout the day and curb your urge to snack. Here are some places to start.

  • Complex carbs such as brown rice, wholemeal bread and quinoa have a low GI. As they are digested, the calories they contain are released into the bloodstream gradually, providing a steady supply of calories throughout the day and contributing to feelings of satiety.
  • Dietary fiber. Fruits, vegetables, legumes and whole grains are packed with fiber, which also increases feelings of satiety and contributes to digestive health.
  • Protein is essential for packing on muscle mass. If you’ve been doing weight or strength training, consider consuming more protein to increase your musculature. The higher your muscle mass, the higher your metabolism and therefore the more body fat your body burns, even at resting. 2

Increasing energy output

the-equation-for-weight-loss2

According to experts, you should be getting at least 150 minutes of moderate-intensity physical activity per week — and if you are aiming for faster weight loss, you can exercise even more than that.3 To prevent over-exertion, you should spread your physical activities across 3 to 5 exercise sessions per week, and also integrate exercise into your daily routine.

  • Walk to and from work. Even if you have to commute to work, walking is still possible. Consider getting off a stop before and walk that extra distance. 
  • Take the stairs instead of the escalator or elevator.
  • Help out with household chores. Your family will certainly appreciate it!

Remember that any kind of physical activity, no matter how seemingly trivial, contributes to your energy expenditure and increases the energy output side of the equation. Combined with a controlled calorie intake, weight loss is within your reach!

Sources

  1. Obesity. NHS Choices. Visited 4 April 2014
  2. How can I speed up my metabolism? NHS Choices. Visited 4 April 2014.
  3. Physical Guidelines for adults. NHS Choices. Visited 4 April 2014. 

Recommended for you

Subscribe to Cigna Smart Health

Get the latest health tips & premium contents from our newsletter

減磅方程式
健身知識

減磅方程式

4 分鐘閱讀

不論甚麼節食或減磅策略,其核心都是一條簡易的方程式 —— 你的能量消耗必需超過你所吸收的能量。

減磅=能量吸收-能量消耗

這是一個關鍵的概念,因為減磅不但要吃夠營養、高質量的食物,更加要確保自己所吸取的卡路里是少於一整天活動所燃燒的份量。數量固然緊要,質量亦然。因此,假如你的減磅計劃沒有顯著效果,只有兩個選擇。你可以吃少一點,或多做一點運動。

減少能量吸收

the-equation-for-weight-loss1

免去一整頓飯是普遍但其實並不適當的節食策略。這樣會降低你的能量水平,形成更大的進食慾望和令饑餓煎熬的感覺更強烈,引致你的進食量遠超出健康所需。1

相反,每日三餐以外,你須要避免進食零食。速食含高卡路里,尤其是糖和脂肪,而由於你未必特別留意進食的份量,因而會過份吸收。零食的定義就是不必要的卡路里攝取,所以如果你嘗試減少能量吸收,戒除零食就是首要任務。

第二個貼士是確保你的早、午、晚三餐含豐富營養,低升糖指數(GI Index)和適度卡路里的食物,這樣會保持你的能量水平一整天持續穩定及增加抵抗吃零食的意慾。以下有一些方案:

  • 複合碳水化合物:如糙米、全麥麵包和藜麥同屬低 GI 值。當它們被消化,當中的卡路里會逐步被釋到血管中,提供全日穩定的卡路里供應和形成飽肚感。
  • 饍食纖維:生果、蔬菜、豆類和全穀物都充滿纖維,同樣能夠增加飽肚感和促進消化健康。
  • 蛋白質:對於肌肉密度極為重要。如你在進行重量或力度訓練,考慮進食多點蛋白質來增加你的肌肉組織。你的肌肉密度越高,你的新陳代謝率會越高,因而令身體燃燒更多脂肪,就算休息時亦然。2

增加能量消耗

the-equation-for-weight-loss2

根據專家指出,你每星期須要做至少 150 分鐘適度的體能運動,如果你的目標是更快速減磅,你可以進行更多的運動。3 避免過度損耗,你應將體能運動的時間以每星期進行三至五節來分配,並將運動納入你的日常生活中:

  • 以步行上班及下班:就算你須要乘坐交通工具,亦應盡量多走動。考慮提早一個站下車,多走一段路程。
  • 選擇走樓梯而非乘搭扶手電梯或升降機。
  • 幫手分擔家務:額外好處是,你的家人定必心存感激。

緊記其實有許多體能運動,無論看似多瑣碎,都可以有助你的能量輸出,及在能量吸收和消耗的平衡中增加消耗。再結合控制卡路里的吸收,減磅的目標觸手可及!

資料來源

  1. Obesity. NHS Choices. Visited 4 April 2014
  2. How can I speed up my metabolism? NHS Choices. Visited 4 April 2014.
  3. Physical Guidelines for adults. NHS Choices. Visited 4 April 2014. 

您可能感興趣

訂閱信諾Smart Health

獲得最新健康資訊